UMR 8135 CNRS - INaLCO

Theme 1: Grammatical analysis and typology

Coordinators of the programme : Nicolas Quint, Stéphane Robert & Mark Van de Velde

LLACAN participants

Researchers and teacher-researchers: Fathi Debili, Dmitry Idiatov, Mena Lafkioui, Amina Mettouchi, Tatiana Nikitina, Elsa Oréal, Nicolas Quint, Stéphane Robert, Paulette Roulon-Doko, Marie-Claude Simeone-Senelle, Yvonne Treis, Mark Van de Velde, Martine Vanhove.
PhD students: Farid Benmokhtar, Bertille Djoupée, Maximilien Guérin, Sonia Lounis, Daria Mischenko, Mirjam Möller, Elisabeth Njantcho Kouagang, Hortense Tebili, Suzanne Van Der Meer, Eliane Vieira, Alexandra Vydrina.
Engineers: Christian Chanard (multimedia resources), Tahar Meddour (web access), Jérôme Picard (cartography)

Objectives

The programme Grammatical theory and instruments: best practice for a multi-dimensional reproducible grammatical description aims at structuring those research projects at LLACAN that focus on grammatical analysis and description, i.e. it is intended to define our long-term objectives and priorities and to create an environment for intensive collaboration among its participants. This structured collaboration guarantees that the grammars that we are producing in the present five-year period improve in quality. It also guarantees a better integration of general typology into field linguistics and vice versa.

The major aims of this programme are as follows:

  1. Pooling skills and sharing scientific results which are acquired by the members of this programme in their research projects
  2. Enlarging the perimeter covered by so-called descriptive grammar by way of collaborating with specialists of related disciplines
  3. Compiling best practices for grammatical analysis and description and the dissemination of results
  4. Creating an incubator for new national and international projects with external funding

Research questions, theoretical framework and methodologies

The grammatical analysis of the languages of Africa, including the documentation of their diversity, is one of the main tasks of LLACAN. Our research endeavours concentrate on unknown or little known languages; researchers at LLACAN produce first-hand descriptions which require field research. This research activity typically comes along with a number of challenges that exceed the capacities of individual researchers and which are thus better approached collectively and in a collaborative manner.

The first challenge we face is the following: authors of grammars are expected to be excellent in all domains of linguistic analysis. A growing number of linguists, especially typologists and comparativists, take the world’s linguistic diversity into account when establishing the samples for their research. In the description of our languages of expertise, they then expect to find analyses which reflect the current state of the art in their domain of interest. The members of our programme generally have a favourite domain to which they make theoretical contributions, but we cannot be at the height of all developments in all domains of our grammatical analysis. The synergies created in this programme will increase the quality of our grammatical analyses (i.e. of our grammars) by organising a knowledge transfer between the research projects (internal and external) that are linked to our theme and the members of our group.

A second challenge is to arrive at a multidimensional analysis of the grammatical systems and to cover in a better way – on all levels of analysis – the different coding means which the languages have at their disposal. As we are often the only specialists working on a particular language, we cannot restrict ourselves to those aspects of a grammar that we are personally interested in. Linguistic history has shown that it requires much effort to become aware of those aspects of grammar of which we have previously had no knowledge or whose relevance has not been clear. Until recently, so-called descriptive grammars have rarely dealt with intonation or information structure, whereas today a discussion of these phenomena has become indispensable in a first grammar of a language with a synchronic focus. In principle, we could enlarge the scope of our work along two axes: we could, on the hand, take new domains into account (e.g. the relation between speech and gesture) in our research, or we could integrate linguistic disciplines in our work that are often considered secondary to grammatical analysis, e.g. instrumental phonetic analysis or language acquisition. We prioritise the second domain in the present five-year period. For this purpose, we collaborate with phoneticians of the Labex EFL; we also work with specialists of poetry and of historical-comparative linguists in our research unit.

The reproducibility of analyses is another challenge that every scientific discipline needs to address. In order to meet this requirement, we will compile best practices in this domain, inspired, among others, by the way they were implemented in the field of linguistic documentation. We resort to multimedia resources which we now have at our disposal (example corpora, electronic dictionaries attached to the descriptions …).

Finally, a fourth challenge that we need to address in our programme is our contribution to linguistic theory. We need to underpin theoretically the permanent tension between the grammatical analyses of individual languages and the comparative studies of human language, i.e. typology. The members of our group share the conviction that every rigorous methodology in description leads to a grammatical analysis in a language’s own terms (cf. the Descriptive Categories by Haspelmath 2010) but these are unsuitable for comparative purposes. Nevertheless, we have the ambition to contribute maximally to the progress of general linguistics with our studies of particular languages. The comparability of data, as it is required by typology, thus needs to be created (see the Comparative concepts by Haspelmath 2010 or, in other perspective, Frajzyngier’s (2013) Non-aprioristic Typology): in order to be well-founded, typology needs to take into account the particularities of individual languages (i.e. the differences between the categories across languages) and, at the same time, to go beyond and abstract in a controlled way from these differences in order to allow for comparison. The question how to resolve this tension, which was already addressed in the ANR-project CorpAfroAs (2007-2011) with respect to corpus annotation, will be followed up thoroughly in the ANR-project CorTypo (2013-2016), which has a more typological perspective.

References

  • FRAJZYNGIER, Zygmunt. 2013. Non-aprioristic typology as a discovery tool. In Functional-Historical Approaches to Explanation: In honor of Scott DeLancey, eds. Tim Thornes, Erik Andvik, Gwen Hyslop and Joana Jansen. Amsterdam: John Benjamins. Pp. 3-26.
  • HASPELMATH, Martin. 2010. Comparative concepts and descriptive categories in cross-linguistic studies. Language 86(3). 663-687

Structure of the programme

The programme is organised in three units, each consisting of several “work chapters”. The organisation is flexible, which means that the research issue of each “chapter” can be addressed in several non-successive meetings during the coming five-year period, depending on the needs of the participants. The work chapters in the unit “Grammar modules” generally start off with a presentation by an expert in the domain in question. S/he is asked to make explicit what s/he expects of descriptive grammars – for the domain in question – in terms of data and analyses, their optimal presentation and the evidence that is needed to support the proposed analyses.

  1. Grammar modules
    1. 1.1. Instrumental phonetics
    2. 1.2. Intonation
    3. 1.3. Complementation
    4. 1.4. Poetry
    5. 1.5. Diachronic explanations
    6. 1.6. Information structure and grammatical relations
  2. Good practices
    1. 2.1. Setting up, exploiting and archiving a corpus of fieldwork data
    2. 2.2. Lexicography
    3. 2.3. Dialectal and sociolinguistic variation of linguistic communities
  3. Instruments and methodologies
    1. 3.1. Development of an instrument for creating electronic multimedia and hypertext grammars
    2. 3.2. Quantitative approaches

Projects linked to Theme 1 (Grammatical analysis and typology)

The design of the present project of LLACAN reflects the fact that a large number of researchers are working on descriptive grammars of African languages. Most of the time, this time-consuming research activity, which has created very important results, has until now been carried out outside the programmatic frame of the research unit. In the new programme schema adopted for this five-year period, the activity of writing a grammatical description becomes a research “project” (see list below), and it is associated to this programme if its research questions are defined and if its deliverables and its duration are determined. Starting from now, our important grammatographic research is presented in this way. Theme 1, Grammatical analysis and typology, thus encompasses a large number of research projects centring on the elaboration of grammars of little known languages (some of these projects may include lexicographic descriptions of these languages). The quality of the grammars is expected to profit directly from the collective work carried out inside the programme and from the contributions of other projects (especially Labex and ANR projects) linked to the programme:

  1. Description of Beja (Cushitic)
  2. Description of Afar (Cushitic)
  3. Description of Baskeet (Omotic)
  4. Description of Dahalik (Afro-Semitic)
  5. Description of Ancient Egyptian
  6. Description of Kabyle (Berberg)
  7. Description of Kambaata (Cushitic)
  8. Description of Koalib (Kordofanian)
  9. Description of Ko, Werni and Tira (Kordofanian)
  10. Description of Yulu (Sara-Bongo-Baguirmi)
  11. Description of Dadjo Sila (Sudanic)
  12. Description of Gbaya (Ubangian)
  13. Description of Wolof (Atlantic)
  14. Description of the Djifanghor variety of Baynunk (Atlantic)
  15. Description of Dan-Gwèètaa (Mande)
  16. Description of Maninka (Mande)
  17. Description of Naija (Nigerian Pidgin English)
  18. Description and documentation of Myene varieties (Bantu)
  19. Dialectological study of Cape Verdean Creole (Portuguese-based Creole)
  20. Description and typology of the languages of Senegal
  21. Description, dialectology and lexicography of the Bantu languages of Zone A
  22. Lexical description of Toura (Mande)
  23. The Typology and Corpus annotation of information structure and grammatical relations
  24. CorTypo (Designing spoken corpora for cross-linguistic research)
  25. Person deixis and categorization of discourse roles in West African languages
  26. Expression of comparison of equality and similarity
  27. Correlations and interactions between number and other linguistic categories
  28. Predicative nominal operations in Peul (Atlantic)
  29. Syntagmatic and dependency analysis of written vowelled and non-vowelled Arabic

UMR 8135 CNRS - INaLCO

Thème 1 : Analyse grammaticale et typologie

Coordinateurs : Nicolas Quint, Stéphane Robert & Mark Van de Velde

Participants Llacan

Chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs : Fathi Debili, Dmitry Idiatov, Mena Lafkioui, Amina Mettouchi, Tatiana Nikitina, Elsa Oréal, Nicolas Quint, Stéphane Robert, Paulette Roulon-Doko, Marie-Claude Simeone-Senelle, Yvonne Treis, Mark Van de Velde, Martine Vanhove.
Doctorants : Farid Benmokhtar, Bertille Djoupée, Maximilien Guérin, Sonia Lounis, Daria Mischenko, Mirjam Möller, Elisabeth Njantcho Kouagang, Hortense Tebili, Suzanne Van Der Meer, Eliane Vieira, Alexandra Vydrina.
Ingénieurs : Christian Chanard (outil multimedia), Tahar Meddour (accès web), Jérôme Picard (cartographie)

Objectifs

Le programme Théorie grammaticale et instrumentation : meilleures pratiques pour une analyse grammaticale multidimensionnelle reproductible vise à structurer les projets de recherche en analyse grammaticale au sein du laboratoire LLACAN, c'est-à-dire, à définir nos objectifs et priorités sur le long terme et à créer une dynamique de collaboration intensive. Cette collaboration structurée doit permettre un saut qualitatif pour les analyses que nous nous engageons à produire durant ce nouveau quinquennal et une meilleure intégration entre linguistique de terrain et typologie générale.
Ses buts principaux sont :

  1. la mutualisation des compétences et le partage des résultats scientifiques acquis par les membres de l’opération au sein des projets de recherches auxquels ils participent
  2. l’élargissement du périmètre couvert par les grammaires dites descriptives grâce à la collaboration avec les spécialistes de disciplines connexes
  3. la création d’un ensemble de meilleures pratiques pour l’analyse grammaticale et la communication de ses résultats
  4. de fournir un lieu d’incubation de nouveaux projets nationaux et internationaux avec financement externe.

Problématique, cadres théoriques et méthodologie

L’analyse grammaticale des langues de l’Afrique — en combinaison avec la documentation de leur diversité — est une des tâches principales du laboratoire LLACAN. Celle-ci porte la plupart du temps sur des langues pas ou peu décrites pour lesquelles les chercheurs du LLACAN doivent produire des descriptions de première main nécessitant des missions de terrain. Cette activité scientifique, a priori innovante, comporte typiquement un nombre de défis qui dépassent les capacités des chercheurs individuels et que notre synergie se propose d’engager collectivement.

Le premier de ces défis est qu’on attend des auteurs de grammaires l’excellence dans tous les domaines de la linguistique. Un nombre grandissant de linguistes, en particulier les typologues et les comparatistes, prennent en compte la diversité linguistique et s’attendent à disposer, pour les langues de notre spécialité, d’analyses qui soient à la hauteur des dernières évolutions dans leurs domaines respectifs. Les membres de notre programme ont généralement chacun leur domaine de prédilection, sur lequel nous contribuons aux développements théoriques, mais nous ne pouvons pas être à la pointe de toutes les évolutions dans tous les domaines pertinents pour l’analyse grammaticale. Notre synergie augmentera la qualité de nos analyses grammaticales en organisant un transfert de connaissances entre les projets de recherches (intérieurs et extérieurs à notre thème) et les membres de notre groupe.

Un deuxième défi est d’arriver à une analyse multidimensionnelle des systèmes grammaticaux, couvrant au mieux les différents moyens de codage dont disposent les langues, à tous les niveaux d'analyse. Etant donné que nous sommes souvent les seuls spécialistes à travailler sur une langue donnée, nous ne pouvons pas nous limiter aux aspects de la grammaire qui nous intéressent personnellement. L’histoire montre que ceci nécessite un effort actif de prise de conscience des aspects de la grammaire dont on ignore l’existence ou la pertinence. Jusqu’à une époque récente, les grammaires dites descriptives traitaient rarement de l’intonation ou de la structure de l’information, alors qu’aujourd’hui une discussion de ces phénomènes est de plus en plus considérée comme étant indispensable dans une analyse grammaticale synchronique de base. En principe, l’élargissement de notre champ d’action pourrait se faire sur deux axes, d’une part la prise en compte de nouveaux domaines de recherche (tels que la relation entre parole et geste) et d’autre part, l’intégration de disciplines de la linguistique souvent considérées comme étant connexes à l’analyse grammaticale, tels que l’analyse phonétique instrumentale ou l’acquisition du langage. Nous privilégions le deuxième axe dans le présent quinquennal, en collaborant avec des spécialistes de phonétique au sein du Labex EFL, et des spécialistes de la poétique et des approches diachroniques au sein de notre laboratoire.

La reproductibilité des analyses est également un défi que doit relever chaque discipline qui aspire au statut de science. Pour répondre à cette exigence, nous allons développer un ensemble de meilleures pratiques dans ce domaine, inspirées, entre autres, par les réalisations en linguistique documentaire et s’appuyant largement sur les ressources multimédia désormais à disposition (corpus d’exemples, dictionnaires électroniques attachés aux descriptions…)

Enfin, un quatrième défi que nous devons relever au sein du programme est de théoriser davantage la tension pérenne entre l’analyse grammaticale des langues individuelles et les études comparatives du langage humain, dont la typologie. Les membres de notre groupe partagent la conviction selon laquelle toute méthodologie rigoureuse en matière de description mène à une analyse grammaticale en termes de catégories propres à la langue étudiée (cf. les Descriptive categories de Haspelmath 2010), et par conséquent inadaptées à l’utilisation dans les études comparatives. En même temps, nous avons tous l’ambition de contribuer maximalement au progrès de la linguistique générale avec nos études de langues particulières. La comparabilité des données, nécessaire à la typologie, doit donc être construite (voir les Comparative concepts de Haspelmath 2010 ou, dans une autre perspective, la non-aprioristic typology de Frajzyngier, sous presse) : pour être fondée, la typologie doit à la fois prendre en compte la spécificité des langues particulières (différences entre les catégories à travers les langues) et dépasser de manière contrôlée ces différences pour en permettre la comparaison. Cette tension, déjà abordée dans le projet d’ANR CorpAfroAs (2007-2011) à propos de l’annotation de corpus, sera poursuivie de manière approfondie dans le projet d’ANR CorTypo (2013-2016) dont la visée est plus largement typologique.

Références

  • FRAJZYNGIER, Zygmunt. (in press). Non-aprioristic typology as a discovery tool. In Functional-Historical Approaches to Explanation : In honor of Scott DeLancey, eds. Tim Thornes, Erik Andvik, Gwen Hyslop and Joana Jansen. Amsterdam : John Benjamins.
  • HASPELMATH, Martin. 2010. Comparative concepts and descriptive categories in cross-linguistic studies. Language 86(3). 663-687

Structure du programme

Le programme est organisé en trois unités qui consistent chacune en plusieurs « chapitres de travail ». L’organisation sera flexible dans le sens où la problématique d’un chapitre peut revenir dans des réunions non-successives le long du quinquennal, selon les besoins des participants. Les chapitres de travail dans l’unité modules de la grammaire débuteront généralement avec un exposé d’un spécialiste du domaine en question à qui on demandera d’expliciter ses attentes vis-à-vis des grammaires descriptives en termes de données et analyses retenues, leur présentation optimale et les éléments de preuve requises pour étayer les analyses proposées.

  1. Modules de la grammaire
    1. 1.1. Phonétique instrumentale
    2. 1.2. Intonation
    3. 1.3. Complémentation
    4. 1.4. Poétique
    5. 1.5. Explications diachroniques
    6. 1.6. Structure de l’information et relations grammaticales
  2. Meilleures pratiques
    1. 2.1. Constitution, exploitation et archivage de corpus de terrain
    2. 2.2. Lexicographie
    3. 2.3. Variation dialectale et sociolinguistique des communautés linguistiques
  3. Outils et méthodologies
    1. 3.1. Développement d’un outil pour créer les grammaires électroniques multimédia et hypertextuelles
    2. 3.2. Approches quantitatives

Projets liés au thème 1 (Analyse grammaticale et typologie)

L’actuel projet de laboratoire est né partiellement du constat qu’un nombre très élevé des chercheurs du Llacan était en train d’élaborer une grammaire descriptive d’une langue africaine. La plupart du temps, cette activité de recherche, très importante en termes de résultats et d’investissement de temps et d’efforts, se déroulait jusqu’ici en dehors de tout cadre programmatique explicite. Désormais, dans le nouveau schéma de programmation adopté, dès lors qu’une activité de description grammaticale a fait l’objet d’une définition précise de sa problématique, de son (ou de ses) livrable(s) et de l’indication de la durée, elle devient un projet de recherche et constitue un projet rattaché à ce programme : c’est en ces termes que nous présenterons désormais nos recherches grammatographiques. Le thème Analyse grammaticale et typologie comporte donc un nombre important de projets de recherche organisés autour de l’élaboration de grammaires de langues peu décrites (pouvant inclure des descriptions lexicographiques des langues concernées), dont la qualité doit directement profiter du travail collectif mené au sein du programme et des apports des autres projets (notamment Labex et ANR) liés au programme :

  1. Description du bedja (couchitique)
  2. Description de l’afar (couchitique)
  3. Description du baskeet (omotique)
  4. Description du dahalik (afro-sémitique)
  5. Description de l’Ancien Egyptien (égyptien)
  6. Description du kabyle (berbère)
  7. Description du kambaata (couchitique)
  8. Description du koalib (kordofanien)
  9. Description du ko, du werni et du tira (kordofanien)
  10. Description du yulu (sara-bongo-baguirmi)
  11. Description du dadjo sila (soudanique)
  12. Description du gbaya (oubanguien)
  13. Description du wolof (atlantique)
  14. Description du baynunk - parler de Djifanghor (atlantique)
  15. Description du dan-gwèètaa (mandé)
  16. Description du maninka (mandé)
  17. Description du naija (Pidgin English du Nigéria)
  18. Description et documentation des variétés myènè (bantu)
  19. Etude dialectologique du capverdien (créole à base portugaise)
  20. Description et typologie des langues du Sénégal
  21. Description, dialectologie et lexicographie des langues bantu de la zone A
  22. Description lexicale du toura (mandé)
  23. The Typology and Corpus annotation of information structure and grammatical relations
  24. CorTypo : ‘Designing spoken corpora for cross-linguistic research’
  25. Person deixis and categorization of discourse roles in West African languages
  26. Expression des comparaisons d’égalité et de similitude
  27. Corrélations et interactions entre le nombre et les autres catégories linguistiques
  28. Les opérations prédicatives nominales en peul (atlantique)
  29. Analyse syntagmatique et dépendancielle de l'arabe écrit, voyellé ou non (sémitique)